Skip to content
Will Glickman Award


The prestigious Will Glickman Award celebrates excellence in playwriting by selecting the best new play to premiere in the region each year. Named in honor of Bay Area playwright and screenwriter Will Glickman, this award has been presented annually since 1984. The winner is chosen by a panel of leading Bay Area theatre critics.


The Glickman Award is open to works that premiered locally, in-person each year.

Local premieres are automatically entered for consideration, there is no need to apply.

Works that were previously entered for the 2021 or 2022 Glickman Award as a digital or postponed premiere can be eligible again in subsequent years if they premiere live and in-person, unless they received the 2021 or 2022 Glickman Award.


Contact Lily Janiak at

Past Recipients


The Travelers

Luis Alfaro

Magic Theatre

2023 Jonathan Spector, This Much I Know (Aurora Theatre Company)

2022 Ruben Grijalva, Shoot Me When... (San Francisco Playhouse)

2021 Ricardo Pérez González, Don't Eat the Mangos (Magic Theatre)

2021 Honorable Mention, David Templeton, Galatea (had been scheduled to open in March 2020 at Spreckels Performing Arts Center)

2020 Rachel Bublitz, Ripped (Z Space)

2019 Jonathan Spector, Eureka Day (Aurora Theatre Company)

2018 Ofra Daniel, Love Sick (Jewish Circle Theatre)

2017 Julia Cho, Aubergine (Berkeley Repertory Theatre)

2016 Lauren Yee, In a Word ( San Francisco Playhouse)

2015 Marcus Gardley, The House that will not Stand (Berkeley Repertory Theatre)

2014 Aaron Loeb, Ideation (San Francisco Playhouse)

2013 Christopher Chen, The Hundred Flowers Project ( Crowded Fire Theater/Playwrights Foundation)

2012 Rajiv Joseph, The North Pool (TheatreWorks)

2011 Luis Alfaro, Oedipus El Rey ( Magic Theatre)

2010 Sarah Ruhl, In the Next Room (or, the vibrator play) ( Berkeley Repertory Theatre)

2009 Jason Craig & Dave Malloy, Beowulf, A Thousand Years of Baggage (Shotgun Players /Banana Bag and Bodice)

2008 Dan Hoyle, Tings Dey Happen (The Marsh)

2007 Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, Hunter Gatherers (Killing My Lobster)

2006 Leigh Fondakowski et al., The People's Temple (Berkeley Rep /Z Space)

2005 Liz Duffy Adams, Dog Act (Shotgun Players /Playwrights Foundation)

2004 Denis Johnson, Soul of a Whore (Campo Santo/Intersection for the Arts)

2003 Adam Bock, Five Flights (Encore Theatre Company )

2002 Brighde Mullins, Dominant Looking Males (Thick Description)

2001 Bill Russell & Henry Krieger, Everything's Ducky (Theatreworks)

2000 Erin Cressida Wilson, The Trail of Her Inner Thigh (Campo Santo/Intersection for the Arts)

1999 John Fisher, Combat! (UC Berkeley)

1998 Brian Freeman, Civil Sex (The Marsh /Thick Description)

1997 Anne Galjour, Hurricane/Mauvais Temps (Berkeley Rep)

1996 John Fisher, Medea: The Musical (Sassy Mouth/Air Zimmerman)

1995 Charlie Varon, Rush Limbaugh in Night School (The Marsh)

1994 Octavio Solis, Santos y Santos (Thick Description/Eureka Theatre)

1993 Cherrie Moraga, Heroes and Saints (Eureka Theatre /Brava Theatre Center)

1992 Tony Kushner, Angels in America (Millenium Approaches) (Eureka Theatre)

1991 Bill Talen, Political Wife (Life on the Water)

1990 Anthony Clarvoe, Pick Up Ax (Eureka Theatre)

1989 Philip Kan Gotanda, Yankee Dawg You Die (Berkeley Rep)

1988 Waren Kobuta, Webster Street Blues (Asian American Theater Company)

1987 Doug Holsclaw, Life of the Party (Theatre Rhinoceros)

1986 Tony Pellegrino, Deer Rose (Pellegrino/Gumption)

1985 Lynne Kaufman, The Couch (Magic Theatre)

1984 Joel Homer, Private Scenes (Magic Theatre)