Skip to content
Rella Lossy Award


The Rella Lossy Award honors the memory of Rella Lossy, a lifelong lover and champion of the American theatre and playwriting, by honoring the best new script of a play by an emerging playwright that will premiere in the Bay Area in the upcoming season.

How to Apply


The Rella Lossy Award is an award for professionally-oriented theatre organizations that will be presenting a world-premiere full-length play by an emerging playwright opening on or after May 1, 2023 and closing before April 30, 2024. The award goes to the playwright and the producing company.

For the purposes of this award, we define “emerging” as a writer that has yet to be produced on Broadway or by a LORT member theatre.


May 1, 2023

Applications are currently closed.


Email Programs Officer Melissa Hillman at

Past Recipients

headshot of dillon chito


Pueblo Revolt

Dillon Chito


No 2021 awardee due to Covid

2020: Br'er Peach — Andrew Saito, playwright; AlterTheater, producer

2019: Ghosts of Bogota — Diana Burbano, playwright; AlterTheater Ensemble, producer

2018: Eureka Day – Jonathan Spector, playwright; Aurora Theatre Company, producer

2017: Madame Ho – Eugenie Chan, playwright; Eugenie Chan Theater Projects, producer