Advertise with us
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   JOIN
TBA Online: News & Features: February 2014

Aaron Loeb's "Ideation" Wins 2013 Glickman Award

Tuesday, January 28, 2014   (0 Comments)
Share |


By Theatre Bay Area Staff



Playwright Aaron Loeb has won the prestigious Will Glickman Award for best new play to premiere in the Bay Area in 2013 for his play, Ideation, which received its world premiere from the San Francisco Playhouse in November 2013 at Tides Theatre as part of the Playhouse's second-stage Sandbox Series of small-scale world premieres. Loeb and the San Francisco Playhouse will receive awards at Theatre Bay Area's Annual Conference on April 14, 2014 at Berkeley Repertory Theatre. Loeb will also receive the award's $4,000 purse.



Michael Ray Wisely, Carrie Paff and Mark Anderson Phillips in San Francisco Playhouse’s world-premiere production of Ideation by Aaron Loeb. Photo: Jordan Puckett.

In addition, SF Playhouse will open its 2014-2015 main stage season with a revamped remount of Ideation, scheduled to run September 23 through November 8. This will be the first play from the Sandbox Series to go on to the company's main stage. In its initial three-week run, Ideation broke all box office records for the Sandbox, selling out every show.
Ideation is equal parts savagely dark comedy and psychological suspense thriller. A team of corporate consultants has been hired to brainstorm a project with potentially gruesome ethical implications that become increasingly impossible to ignore. As they methodically work through how the project would work and who exactly would need to know about it, they realize how little they know about what they're working on.

"I am very grateful to TBA and the Glickman committee for the award," Loeb says. "Ideation is a truly homegrown play: originally written in the Just Theater New Play Lab, developed in the Bay Area Playwrights Festival, and world premiered at SF Playhouse. It is incredibly gratifying to receive such a warm response from the community."

"San Francisco Playhouse created our Sandbox Series as a creative lab to shepherd the work of new playwrights," says San Francisco Playhouse artistic director Bill English. "So we feel a particular kinship to the work Theatre Bay Area also does to nurture new works, and we have great respect for their Glickman Award. It is incredibly exciting and rewarding for us to see one of our Sandbox projects win the Glickman Award. We believe Aaron Loeb is an important voice who speaks so profoundly to the moment in which we live. It has been a rare privilege for the Playhouse to serve as the springboard for Ideation, and we can't think of a better play to begin our 2014-15 season."

This is the first Glickman Award for playwright Loeb, and also for the San Francisco Playhouse.

"I am thrilled to present this award to Aaron—one of the Bay Area's most exciting young playwrights—for this compelling new play," says Theatre Bay Area executive director Brad Erickson. "And I am equally pleased to honor SF Playhouse for producing Ideation and for its deep commitment to new works and Bay Area writers."

Administered by Theatre Bay Area and started in 1984 to honor Bay Area playwright and screenwriter Will Glickman, the Will Glickman Award is presented annually to the author or authors of the best play to have its world premiere in the Bay Area. The winner is chosen by a panel of top Bay Area theatre critics: Robert Hurwitt of the San Francisco Chronicle, Robert Avila of the San Francisco Bay Guardian, Karen D'Souza of the San Jose Mercury News, Chad Jones of and Sam Hurwitt of KQED Arts and the Marin Independent Journal. The Glickman Award-winning play is published each year in the July/August issue of Theatre Bay Area magazine.

Last year's winner was Christopher Chen for The Hundred Flowers Project, premiered by Crowded Fire Theater and Playwrights Foundation. The 2012 Glickman winner, Rajiv Joseph's The North Pool, opened off-Broadway in February in a new staging by the director of its original TheatreWorks production, Giovanna Sardelli. The 2011 winner, Luis Alfaro's Oedipus el Rey, went on to celebrated productions in Los Angeles and Washington, DC, and the 2010 winner, In the Next Room (or the vibrator play), went on to become playwright Sarah Ruhl's Broadway debut. Other past recipients include Tony Kushner for Angels in America: Millennium Approaches (1992), Philip Kan Gotanda for Yankee Dawg You Die (1989), Octavio Solis for Santos y Santos (1994) and Leigh Fondakowski et al for The People's Temple (2006).