Advertise with us
Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   JOIN
Who We Are
Share |

Our Mission

Theatre Bay Area was founded in 1976 to serve the vital artistic community of the Bay Area, and is today the largest regional theatre service organization in North America, serving as a model for other service organizations around the country. Our mission is to unite, strengthen, promote and advance the theatre community in the San Francisco Bay Area, working on behalf of our conviction that the performing arts are an essential public good, critical to a healthy and truly democratic society, and invaluable as a source of personal enrichment and growth.

The San Francisco Bay Area is the third largest theatre center in the country, with more than 400 companies in nine counties. The region boasts more theatre companies per capita than almost any other metropolitan area in the US, and is home to the third largest community of Equity (union) actors, following New York City and Chicago. Some 200 new plays are premiered here each year, many going on to wider success. 

Theatre Bay Area's present membership reflects the thriving arts scene in the nine Bay Area counties, consisting of more than 365 theatre and dance companies, from multimillion dollar organizations to grassroots community groups; some 3,000 individuals, including actors, directors, designers, dance artists, playwrights, dramaturgs, technicians and theatre patrons; and more than 100 organizational members, from libraries and universities to theatre industry professional services.

Our Leadership

Brad Erickson 
Executive Director

Dale Albright
Interim Managing Director / Program Director


Rotimi Agbabiaka
Features Curator
Kim Cohan
Development Manager

  Hanna Rachel Gerry
Membership and Events Associate
  J Jha
Marketing Manager (Advertising and Audience Development)


Sunshine Lampitoc Smith
Marketing Manager (Marketing and Communications)

  Willem Long
Membership Associate
  Kat Meler

  Toni Press-Coffman
  Jericha Senyak
Senior Bookkeeper

TIX Bay Area Booth Supervisor: Katarina Nunes
TIX Bay Area Booth Sales Associates: Michelle Arce and Alexia Staniotes

Our Board of Directors

Lisa Mallette, President
Kathy King, Vice President
Joseph Perla, Vice President
Janice E. Sager,Treasurer

Anne W. Smith,Secretary

Gina Baleria
Debbie Chinn
Don-Scott Cooper
Brad Erickson
Rachel Fink
Pat Harden
John Maull
SC Moatti
Alan Olejniczak
Brian Protheroe
Chuhan Wang